SUNY ESF Wins Third Consecutive USCAA Men's Cross Country National Championship

SUNY ESF Wins Third Consecutive USCAA Men's Cross Country National Championship

SYRACUSE, NY - SUNY ESF placed 13 runners in the top 26 at the 2013 USCAA Men's Cross Country National Championship en route to capturing the championship title for the third consecutive year.

The Mighty Oaks' Timmy Callahan captured the individual men's race, a year after placing second at the USCAA National Championships. Callahan paced his team and the rest of the pack with a time of 27:30.7, good for a 5:33 mile pace.

Callahan was followed by NHTI's Ignacio Hernando and Penn State Wilkes-Barre's Jason Carey. SUNY ESF's Jon Cleveland finished fourth, while Ronald Hicks of Dine College and Matthew Cregan of Daemen College placed fifth and sixth, respectively. Southern Virginia's Patrick Gonzalez rounded out the First Team All-Americans in seventh.

The 2012 individual champion, Dustin Abeita of Dine College finished 11th.

SUNY ESF, who entered 25 runners into the meet, had 19 finish in the top 75, and their top five runners for points all finished in the top 14. Daemen College finished second with 74 points, while Dine College was a close third with 80 points. A large gap existed from there, as the fourth place team, Alfred State College, finished with 164 points.


Place Team Points
1st SUNY ESF 42
2nd Daemen College 74
3rd Dine College                      80

USCAA All-Americans

First Team

Place Name Year Team Time
1st Timmy Callahan JR SUNY ESF                              27:30.7
2nd Ignacio Hernando            SO NHTI 27:42.9
3rd Jason Carey FR Penn State Wilkes-Barre 27:45.8
4th Jon Cleveland SR SUNY ESF 27:50.3
5th Ronald Hicks SO Dine College      27:51.1
6th Matthew Cregan FR Daemen College 27:55.6
7th Patrick Gonzalez                 JR Southern Virginia University 28:13.1

Second Team

Place Name Year Team Time
8th Jeremy Rushok SO Daemen College 28:19.7
9th Zachery Eustance JR Daemen College 28:20.6
10th Stephen Slonosky SO SUNY ESF 28:29.0
11th Dustin Abeita SO Dine College 28:41.3
12th Josh Keenan FR Florida College 28:41.6
13th Peter Leduc SO SUNY ESF 28:42.6
14th Malcolm Moncheur               JR SUNY ESF                              28:46.5